The Goals

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are the United Nations agreed targets.

There are 17 SDGs (or 'Global Goals') and they aim to achieve 3 extraordinary things by 2030

  • End extreme poverty

  • Fight inequality and injustice

  • Fix climate change

The SDGs are underpinned by the principle of universality, recognising that challenges including environmental degradation, inequality and climate change exist within all countries. All 193 countries in the world have committed to achieving these Goals. We need citizens to be fully aware of the issues facing our planet and have the passion, knowledge and problem-solving capacity to help bring an end to poverty, inequality and climate change locally and globally, to speed up the world’s path to sustainability..

Click on each one to see its definition